Goal – Writing

i feel im a shitty writer, simply said i know i can write much better. The words just dont come to my mind when writing, i know the perfect word, and i remember it starts with a c or something like that, and sounds a certain way, but i cant fucking remember it save my life. I need to learn some more words, i always thought vocab was taught wrong in school. No one realizes how crucial it is to actually know the words, not how to memorize words ten minutes before and then past the test. In hindsight, doing the quick memorization technique might have earned me straight As on the quizzes, but seriously fucked over any chances for increasing my database of knowledge. I feel that a solid vocabulary is essentially in learning and growing, so heres goal number one of this site.

Increase my grossly undernourished knowledge of words

i just signed up for a program that sends a word a day to my email, check it out its awesome
http://wordsmith.org/awad/index.html

I’m also taking other steps to increase my vocabulary challenged lexicon, posting a list of what i believe are crucial words on my mirror, so i can see them every morning as i brush my teeth. Also, I’ve been reading a lot, and actually looking up the words i don’t know. Soon i’ll post my list of essential words that on my mirror on this site.

Other vocab sources

quizlet – online flash card maker ( i love this site)

Provoc – a application for your mac, that helps you learn your vocab, packed with a ton of features, this should help me on my goal too

Filemagnet – an application for the iphone that lets you read uploaded documents from your computer on your iphone. ive been using it just to read papers, and blogs but im going to put vocab words on it and in my free time study from there

Those are my steps so far, what does everyone else do to learn new words?

Leave a Reply

